Why is apple cider called apple cider?

Apple cider (also called sweet cider or soft cider or simply cider) is the name used in the United States and Canada for an unfiltered, unsweetened, non-alcoholic beverage made from apples. The liquid can be extracted from the apple itself, the apple core, the trimmings from apples, or apple culls.