Are male mules sterile?

All mules are sterile, regardless of gender. Mules are created when a male donkey and a female horse mate. The reason mules are sterile has to do with their chromosomes not match up. Mules receive 32 chromosomes from the horse and 31 chromosomes from the donkey.