Who is tennis star sampras?

Pete Sampras, byname of Peter Sampras, (born August 12, 1971, Washington, D.C., U.S.), American tennis player whose exceptional all-around game enabled him to win 14 Grand Slam singles titles, a record among male players until 2009, when it was broken by Roger Federer.