Who was the first englishman to sail around the world?

Sir Francis Drake was not just the first Englishman to sail around the world, he was the first captain to complete the journey (Magellan was first to attempt a circumnavigation, but died on the way round - his officer Juan Sebastian Elcano was the first person to complete a circumnavigation).

---

Sir Francis Drake was not just the first Englishman to sail around the world, he was the first captain to complete the journey (Magellan was first to attempt a circumnavigation, but died on the way round - his officer Juan Sebastian Elcano was the first person to complete a circumnavigation).