What happened to john mellencamp?

John Mellencamp recently put out a new album. According to Steve Innskeep, of Music News, the songs on the album 'Strictly a One-eyed Jack' are narrated by a character whose soul seems as battered as Mellencamp's cigarette-darkened voice.