What does a compensator do?

A compensator compensates. On a gun, it reduces recoil. On a motorcycle, it absorbs some energy from the power stroke to even out the power transferred to the drive components. On a hydraulic pump, it prevents pressure from reaching higher than the maximum set pressure.