How many types of karate are there?

The four main karate styles are Goju-ryu, Shotokan-ryu, Wado-ryu and Shito-ryu. Each form is derived in some way from the karate established by Gichin Funakoshi. Each one has its own techniques that rely heavily on the core tenets of karate in general.