What is a helmet head?

In American football, when you take your helmet off, your hair is often times messed up by the helmet. So the phrase 'helmet head' has come to mean messy hair. Urban Dictionary compares 'helmet head' to 'bed head', but usually 'a 'helmet head' is messier.