What is the two thirds compromise?

The “two-thirds compromise” was proposed by US congressional delegate James Wilson on June 11, 1787. Its effect was to give the Southern states a third more seats in the House of Representatives by counting slaves as two-thirds of a person as opposed to ignoring them completely.