Can number six plastics be recycled?

Number 6 plastics polystyrene. Most cities accept this for larger items like disposable cutlery and clear or coloured cups, but NOT styrofoam, packing peanuts and bubble wrap. Small plastic items are hard to recycle in sorting lines and polystyrene accounts for about 35% of US landfill material.