Are there flying spiders in texas?

What is commonly referred to as a "flying spider" is actually a spider that uses its light weight web to "balloon" on the wind as a method of travel in late spring. They are not uncommon in many western U.S. states, including Texas. The spiders are harmless according to National Geographic.