What is minus one degrees mean?

This depends on whether the scale is fahrenheit or celsius. On the celsius scale, 0 degrees is the freezing point of water, so minus-one degrees is slightly colder than freezing. On the fahrenheit scale, freezing is 32 degrees, so minus-one degrees is 33 degrees below freezing.