Why do elephants have wrinkles?

Elephants have evolved wrinkled skins as a mechanism to fight heat. Elephants lack sweat glands, wrinkles on the skin increases surface area. An elephant weighing around 2 tonnes has approximately 100,000 square centimetres of skin. This huge area emits heat essential for survival in hot climates.