How often do you based a turkey?

Surprisingly, basting a turkey actually does little to improve its moisture. Additionally, opening the oven releases heat making it longer to cook the turkey. The increased cooking time is more likely to dry out the turkey. Therefore, try a pre-soak brine for your bird instead of basting.