What is a spur chili?

Spur chilies, (called prik chee fah) are longer chilies (2-5 inches long) that turn from green to red as they mature. Their name means pointing to the sky, after their growing tendency. Prik chee fah are around 5,000-30,000 on the Scoville heat scale, about the same heat as a Serrano chili.