Is the sahara desert bigger than the united states?

Yes, the Sahara covers an area of northern Africa larger than the lower 48 United States. And it's growing even bigger. Over the past century, rainfall levels have decreased along the southern edge of the Sahara. So some areas that were once semi-arid grassland have become desert.