What is a perferated bowel?

A perforated bowel means that the bowel (usually large intestine) has punctures (or holes) in it. This can happen if the bowel is punctured from outside (ex: stabbed), inside (ex: eating a piece of metal) or by some diseases (like diverticulitis).