Why do scabs form?

Scabs form as a defense against infection, blood loss, and debris. When you get a scrape or cut, platelets — or blood clot cells — will begin to clot to stop bleeding and prevent any excess fluid from flowing out. As the blood or wound dries, it forms the hard layer of a scab.