What happened in wales in nineteen sixty six?

The Aberfan disaster was the catastrophic collapse of a colliery spoil tip on October 21, 1966. After three weeks of heavy rain the tip was saturated and approximately 140,000 cubic yards of spoil slipped down the side of the hill and onto the Pantglas area of the village killing 144