Which way is a fan supposed to rotate in the summer?

A ceiling fan should rotate counterclockwise in the summer so that the blades push cooler air down in a column. This is the best ceiling fan direction for air conditioning since it makes the air feel cooler than it is, and allows you to turn your thermostat up a tad.