What are the bumps on a giraffe's head called?

When a giraffe is born, he has little bumps on his head that will eventually become his ossicones. These bumps are full of cartilage that isn't attached to his skull. The bumps start to grow and ossify, beginning at the tip and hardening down toward the base of the horns