What is a brain scan called?

A brain scan is an ambiguous term. In medical imaging, it could be a CT, MRI, Ultrasound, fluoroscopic, XRay, Nuc Medicine or PET scan. Other fields such as neurology use Electroencephalography to evaluate brain waves. Your Dr's diagnosis helps determine which test is best for you.