How do you get rid of fluid in your lungs?

Doctors use a procedure called thoracentesis. When doing a thoracentesis, a doctor uses imaging guidance to put a needle through your chest wall and into the pleural space. Depending on the severity of your condition, it can be a short, outpatient procedure.