What is the main flavoring agent in a mornay sauce?

Gruyere Mornay sauce is a white sauce (butter, flour, milk) with minor seasoning (salt, pepper, sometimes nutmeg) and cheese melted combined into the sauce. Gruyere is the type of cheese most commonly used.