Who invented the first dollar bill?

Salmon P. Chase graced the front of the first dollar bill, which was issued in 1862. As the treasury secretary under President Abraham Lincoln, he was a fitting choice to usher in this new and modern type of paper currency. The first dollar bill's design was notable for its distinct look.