Who plays stephen in the vampire diaries?

He is portrayed by Paul Wesley in the television series CW's The Vampire Diaries and The Originals. Stefan Salvatore was turned into a vampire in 1864, at the age of 17, by Katerina Petrova, who also turned his brother Damon Salvatore.