What happens when you don't wear green on saint patrick's day?

The color orange represents the Protestant population within Ireland, and the green symbolizes Roman Catholicism, the religion that originally invented the holiday. Nonetheless, St. Patrick's Day was co-opted by Protestants, who opted to don their representative orange instead of green for the day.