What is the law of soil?

A law of soil (A.K.A. "Jus Soli") is one type of citizenship applied to people from specific countries. Granting of citizenship depends greatly from country to country, and is not always universal. For instance, when a child is born within the United States, they are granted U.S. citizenship.