How many years does a college football player have to play?

They are allowed 4 years of regular play, plus a redshirt year in which they can play in 4 games. Players who suffer a season-ending injury may get a medical redshirt year if their injury occurs before the halfway point of the season, and they have not played in more than 30% of the season’s games.