What happened in the year nineteen forty nine?

Berlin Blockade officially comes to an end. The Communist People's Republic of China is proclaimed under Mao Tse Tung. The Geneva Convention is agreed upon. Worlds first Non-Stop Circumnavigation Flight. Indonesia becomes independent. The North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO) was established.