Why do english lawyers wear wigs?

Judges and lawyers wear wigs and robes and bands and so forth because it's their dress code. It's their dress code because no-one bothered to update their dress code for about three hundred years. Wigs and gowns are in the dress code because they were formal wear at the time it was issued. 1714

---

The courtroom dress of British judges and barristers (or lawyers) dates back to the 17th century. In 1625, an academic paper called The Discourse on Robes and Apparel led to the adoption of the robe and wig as the courtroom uniform to distinguish judges and barristers from other members of society.