What's the difference between furloughed and light off?

While laid-off workers are sometimes rehired, the term usually refers to an indefinite break in the employment relationship. A furlough, on the other hand, is typically for a shorter, fixed period of time. Workers are told to stop coming in to work or that their hours will be cut back.

---

main difference between a furlough and a layoff is that a furlough allows workers to return to their jobs. Some layoffs are temporary, and will recall workers to the job, but in cases where management decides the employees will not be recalled, the layoff becomes permanent.

---

Being furloughed means the employee will have a job to return to. Being laid off is when the employee is dismissed from their job as they can no longer be paid, no longer have work to do, etc.

---

While laid-off workers are sometimes rehired, the term usually refers to a permanent break in employment. A furlough, is typically for a shorter, fixed period of time. Workers are told to stop coming in to work or that their hours will be cut back.