What's the difference between furloughed and light off?

While laid-off workers are sometimes rehired, the term usually refers to an indefinite break in the employment relationship. A furlough, on the other hand, is typically for a shorter, fixed period of time. Workers are told to stop coming in to work or that their hours will be cut back.