Where did the name r. two d. two come from?

The name R2D2 originated from Walter Murch, the cutter of Lucas' second movie American Graffiti. When cutting the movie together with Lucas, Walter Murch asked for "R2, D2" --meaning "Reel 2, Dialog 2".