Where do lentils come from?

The lentil is an edible legume. It is a bushy annual plant known for its lens-shaped seeds. It is about 40 cm tall, and the seeds grow in pods, usually with two seeds in each. In cuisines of the Indian subcontinent, split lentils are known as dal.