How to replenish grass?

Put grass seed down and water the grass seed 2-3 times a day for a week until germination and then down to every other day, then once the seedlings grow to three inches it'll have good enough roots to return to normal watering schedule of 1in total a week. Don't mow more than 1/3 off grass at a time