How many muscles are in a dog's tale?

Dog tails are made of vertebrae, muscles, cartilage, and nerves. There are anywhere between 6 and 23 caudal vertebrae in a dog's tail, with an average number of 20 vertebrae. A dog's tail also consists of muscles that attach to the vertebrae that help to control the conscious movement of the tail.