How long does it take for caterpillar to turn into a butterfly?

When a caterpillar is fully grown, it spins a cocoon or sheds its exterior one last time, revealing a pupa or chrysalis. The pupa stage can last from days to months, or even years, depending on the species. Monarch butterflies emerge from their pupae in 1-2 weeks.