When was the original recording made?

"Au clair de la lune," captured in Paris by Édouard-Léon Scott de Martinville in the late 1850s. The first sound to ever be played back was by Thomas Edison's phonograph, which debuted in 1877. So the first sound to be recorded was not the same as the first recorded sound to be played back.