How does a mosquito bite?

A mosquito bites by using the sharp tip of his straw-like mouth to pierce the skin and draw the blood.

---

A mosquito uses the sharp tip of its straw-like mouth (proboscis) to pierce a person's skin. It locates the blood vessel and draws blood up through its mouth. As it does this, it injects saliva that contains an anticoagulant.