How long is an era?

From Wikipedia. An era in geology is a time of several hundred million years. It describes a long series of rock strata which geologists decide should be given a name. An example is the Mesozoic era, when dinosaurs lived on the Earth. An era is made up of periods, and several eras make up an eon.