What is the definition of contingent?

contingent adjective subject to chance. "the contingent nature of the job" synonyms: chance, accidental, fortuitous, possible, unforeseen, unforeseeable, unexpected, unpredicted, unpredictable, unanticipated, unlooked for,occurring or existing only if (certain circumstances)