What's the difference between spanish peanuts and regular peanuts?

Spanish-type peanuts have smaller kernels covered with a reddish-brown skin. They are used predominantly in peanut candy but are also used for salted nuts and peanut butter. Spanish peanuts have higher oil content than the other types of peanuts, which is advantageous when crushing for oil.