What causes curly hair?

The shaft and follicle are two elements of hair. The shaft is the part of the hair that we can see. The follicle, is within the skin of our scalp. A round follicle will tend to grow straight, an oval follicle will give wavy hair, and an elliptical shaped follicle will give you curly hair.