Why does catnip make cats go crazy?

When a cat eats catnip, it acts as a sedative, but when smelled, it causes the cat to go crazy. It's thought to mimic feline pheremones and trigger those receptors. Cats may rub against and chew on catnip to bruise the leaves and stems, which then release more nepetalactone. Catnip is safe for cats.