What year did shirley chisholm run for president?

Chisholm became the first Black major-party candidate to run for President of the United States, in the 1972 U.S. presidential election, making her also the first woman ever to run for the Democratic Party's presidential nomination.

---

In 1972, Shirley Chisholm was the first woman to run for the Democratic Party's presidential nomination. Ultimately the Democratic party candidate selected was George McGovern with running mate Sargent Shriver, who lost to Richard Nixon and Spiro Agnew.