How long does it take to cook a small turkey?

The rule of thumb for cooking a turkey is 13 minutes per pound. So our 16 pound turkey was estimated to cook in about 3 and a half hours. However, some factors like brining the bird, cooking with an empty or un-stuffed cavity, and leaving the legs un-trussed will contribute to much faster cooking.