What are chow chows?

The chow chow is a native of China and among the most ancient of all dog breeds, dating back as early as 206 B.C. DNA analysis shows chows are in the branch that includes the shar-pei, Shiba Inu, and Akita, and are distinct from the lineage of all other dogs.