What is a noble metal?

In chemistry, the noble metals are metals that are resistant to corrosion and oxidation in moist air. The short list of chemically noble metals (those elements upon which almost all chemists agree) comprises ruthenium, rhodium, palladium, silver, osmium, iridium, platinum, and gold.