When was blue's clues invented?

Blue's Clues is an American children's television series that premiered on Nick Jr. on September 8, 1996, and follows an animated blue-spotted dog named Blue as she leaves a trail of paw prints that are clues for the host and viewers, in order to figure out her plans for the day.