Why does the leaning tower of pisa lean?

The Leaning Tower of Pisa is a freestanding bell tower located in the city of Pisa in Italy. Like its name suggests, it actually does lean to one side. The tower started to lean during construction because the foundation was built on soft ground that had difficulty supporting the weight.